You have two interfaces to choose from while chatting. Once you log in, the first chat you will receive will be in the overview/list interface, where the chats line up next to each other and you can see all the conversations that are currently led and can quickly switch from one to another conversation by clicking on the typing field.
The detailed interface, however, can give more information to the agent and it is especially useful for new agents that are not familiar with the keywords of the quick replies, for example.
To switch to the detailed interface, you need to click on the chat menu (the three dots on the upper right corner of the chat window) and choose 'Show Details'.
From then on, the chat interface will look like this:
We can divide the interface into three main sections - Chat List, Chat Session, and Info Section.
In the chat list section, you can see all the chats (active and inactive) that haven't been archived yet. On each chat, you can see the campaign they are coming from, their unique ID, and the last message that was sent in the chat (or the first part of it in case it is too long). On the upper right corner of the chat, there will be the chat indicator if any. These are the possible indicators:
- Red - New incoming chat. In case there is a number in it, that shows the number of messages the customer has sent
- Pink/Clock - The agent hasn't replied for 60 seconds
- Orange/Clock - The visitor hasn't replied for 2 minutes
- Grey/Pause - The visitor has left the website without closing the chat window
- Grey/Stop - The visitor has closed the chat window on the website
- Orange/Boomerang - The chat has been boomeranged (it happens 12 hours after the previous conversation). Available only for messaging apps.
- Blue/Arrow - The chat has been transferred. This indicator stays on the right side of the 'New Chat' indicator
- White - The chat is neutral, the agent has replied to the customer and he hasn't replied anything yet. The chat is neutral for 2 minutes after the last message of the agent if the customer doesn't reply.
- Red/Screen - It indicates that the customer has enabled the screen sharing option on their side
The active chats will line up according to the indicator's importance. The new chats will be on top, after them, there are those with the red/clock indicator, followed by the orange/clock, paused chats and at the end, there will be the closed chats.
The agent can switch between the chats by clicking on them. The conversation will be highlighted in the middle of the detailed interface. This is where the chat session is.
In the chat session section, you can see and lead the conversation with the customer. This is where you will be able to see all the messages the customer has sent as well as the ones you have sent.
At the top of this section, you can see the chat menu (three dots) and the option to close the chat ( the X button). They are both on the right corner, next to each other.
From the chat options menu, you can send the chat transcript to an email address for follow-up, transfer the chat to a colleague, copy the chat conversation, switch between the interfaces and block the visitor for 7 days.
At the top of the conversation field, you will be able to see the website the customer is coming from as well as the time spent in chat. In the conversation field, there might be also system messages like "The chatter left the website", "The chat has been closed" etc. These messages show if the chat was transferred or boomeranged as well. If the 'Sneak Preview' tool is enabled, you will be able to see the customer's message while they are typing it.
On the right bottom, you can choose a result code to tag the chat with.
If the "Allow multiple codes per chat" is ticked, you will be able to choose more than one tag for the chat.
In case the "Agents are forced to choose a code before they can close the chat" is ticked if you try to close the chat without having picked a tag, the result code field will popup immediately, so you can select a tag before the chat is being closed.
Once the tag is selected, the form of the follow-up will appear with the email address set and the conversation. When you click on "OK" the chat will be sent to that email address. If you click on "Cancel" the chat will only be archived and it won't be sent to the email address.
At the bottom of the chat session section, there is the typing field, where you can type and send your replies to the customer. In that field, you can also use the quick replies by typing in # and the keyword connected to the reply you want to use. All the quick replies with that keyword from all of the forums will show up as suggestions.
On the right side of the detailed interface, you can see the info section. It gives you access to the quick replies, to the customer's screen (in case they enabled the screen share option on their side), and to the customer details.
In the quick replies section (1), the agent can see all the replies (2) created for the forum selected from the drop-down menu (3). If they would like to search for a specific quick reply they can do that from the search field on the left side (4). The results shown will be only for the selected forum. You can select the quick reply directly from there and it will be automatically added to the typing field for you to send.
If you need to check the customer's screen when they enable the screen sharing option, they just need to click on the 'Screenshare' on the right side of 'Quick Replies'. In case the customer disabled the screenshare, the "Screen sharing was stopped." will appear.
At the bottom of the info section, you will be able to see the Customer Details section. There you can see the following info:
- Time on site
- Page visits